top of page

Magic: The Gathering Rules - Index

These rules are effective as of April 12, 2024.

Magic The Gathering Rules

The Comprehensive Rules of Magic is a reference document that holds all of the rules and possible corner cases found in Magic. It is NOT meant to be read beginning to end; instead, it's meant to be consulted when specific rules questions come into play.

There is a series of numbered rules, which are listed below with each numbered section linked to a separate page containing the rules in detail.

There is also a separate glossary, which is split across 2 web pages: Glossary A – J and Glossary K - Z.

Many of the numbered rules are divided into subrules, and each separate rule and subrule of the game has its own number. (Note that subrules skip the letters “l” and “o” due to potential confusion with the numbers “1” and “0”; subrule 704.5k is followed by 704.5m, then 704.5n, then 704.5p, for example.)

Changes may have been made since the publication of these page. If in doubt, you can download the most recent version from the Magic rules website at


7. Additional Rules


Magic: The Gathering Original Game Design: Richard Garfield

Comprehensive Rules Design and Development: Paul Barclay, Mark L. Gottlieb, Beth Moursund, Bill Rose, Eli Shiffrin, and Matt Tabak, with contributions from Charlie Cátinò, John Carter, Elaine Chase, Laurie Cheers, Stephen D’Angelo, Dave DeLaney, Brady Dommermuth, Mike Donais, Skaff Elias, Mike Elliott, Richard Garfield, Dan Gray, Robert Gutschera, Collin Jackson, William Jockusch, Jeff Jordan, Yonemura Kaoru, Russell Linnemann, Jim Lin, Steve Lord, Sheldon Menery, Michael Phoenix, Mark Rosewater, David Sachs, Lee Sharpe, Henry Stern, Donald X. Vaccarino, Thijs van Ommen, Ingo Warnke, Tom Wylie, and Bryan Zembruski

Editing: Del Laugel (principal), Matt Tabak (principal), Gregg Luben, Nat Moes, Samantha Phelan, Michael Zhang, and Hans Ziegler

Magic Rules Management: Jess Dunks, Eric Levine, and Eliana Rabinowitz

The Magic: The Gathering game was designed by Richard Garfield, with contributions from Charlie Cátinò, Skaff Elias, Don Felice, Tom Fontaine, Jim Lin, Joel Mick, Chris Page, Dave Pettey, Barry “Bit” Reich, Bill Rose, and Elliott Segal. The mana symbols were designed by Christopher Rush.

Thanks to all our project team members and the many others too numerous to mention who have contributed to this product.

These rules are effective as of April 12, 2024.

Published by Wizards of the Coast LLC, PO Box 707, Renton, WA 98057-0707, USA. Wizards of the Coast, Magic: The Gathering, Magic, their respective logos, Mirrodin, Kamigawa, Lorwyn, Zendikar, Innistrad, Ravnica, Khans of Tarkir, Magic Origins, Magic: The Gathering—Conspiracy, Ixalan, Unfinity, Dominaria, Ikoria, Kaldheim, Baldur’s Gate, The Brothers’ War, and Planeswalker Decks are trademarks of Wizards of the Coast LLC in the USA and other countries. ©2024 Wizards. U.S. Pat. No. RE 37,957.

Astartes, C’tan, Custodes, Necron, Primarch, and Tyranid ® & © Games Workshop Limited 2022. All Rights Reserved.

© 2023 Middle-earth Enterprises. Tales of Middle-earth and The Lord of the Rings and the names of the characters, events, items and places therein, are trademarks of Middle-earth Enterprises, LLC used under license by Wizards of the Coast LLC. All rights reserved.

BBC, DOCTOR WHO, TARDIS, DALEK, CYBERMAN and K-9 (word marks and devices) are trade marks of the British Broadcasting Corporation and are used under licence. BBC logo © BBC 1996.

5 views0 comments


bottom of page